Skip to content

Directory listing — not editorial research

Jewish Day Schools in Owings Mills, Maryland

9 Jewish day schools currently operate in Owings Mills, Maryland. Each entry on this page draws from NCES federal school data and IRS 990 filings. For the right fit for your family — not just a list — start with our 5-minute matching quiz.

Schools tagged with a distance are in nearby cities that families in Owings Mills also consider. Distances are approximate, measured from the middle of Owings Mills.

Nearby, nearest first: Mesivta Kesser Torah of Baltimore (2 mi) · Israel Henry Beren High School (2 mi) · Israel Henry Beren High School of Ner Israel Rabbinical College (2 mi) · Goldsmith Early Childhood Education Center (3 mi).

🏫 9 in Owings Mills · 4 nearby🕍 8 congregations🏠 $384,975 asking🌡️ 40° Jan · 89° Jul💸 State income tax

2 early childhood · 2 elementary schools · 3 high schools · 6 other jewish schools

Schools in Owings Mills, by level

Scroll to the level that matches your child’s age. Within each level, schools are grouped by whether they serve boys, girls, or co-ed classes.

Grades
Who
Where

Early Childhood (Preschool & Kindergarten) · 2 schools

Programs serving preschool and kindergarten-age children, often as standalone early childhood centers or the youngest grades of a larger school.

Co-ed

Goldsmith Early Childhood Education Center

About 3 mi away · Baltimore

PK-K·Co-ed

NCES 2023-24

Girls

Elementary Schools (K–8) · 2 schools

Schools serving kindergarten through grade 8 — some K–5, some K–8, some starting at preschool and ending in 8th grade.

Boys

Torah Institute

PK-8·Boys

NCES 2023-24 · IRS 990 FY2023

Gender mix not specified

High Schools (9–12) · 3 schools

Schools serving grades 9 through 12, including yeshivas, mesivtas, Bais Yaakov high schools, and Modern Orthodox and community high schools.

Boys

Mesivta Kesser Torah of Baltimore

About 2 mi away · Pikesville

9-12·Boys

NCES 2023-24 · IRS 990 FY2022

Israel Henry Beren High School

About 2 mi away · Baltimore

9-12·Boys

NCES 2023-24

Gender mix not specified

Israel Henry Beren High School of Ner Israel Rabbinical College

About 2 mi away · Pikesville

Grades: 9th - 12th

Public record

Other Jewish Schools · 6 schools

Schools in our directory where we don't yet have a structured grade range on file.

Boys

Girls

Gender mix not specified

About Jewish education in Maryland

Maryland — and Baltimore in particular — supports one of the largest and oldest yeshivish communities in the country, anchored by Ner Israel-affiliated schools and a large Bais Yaakov network. Maryland also hosts significant Modern Orthodox and pluralistic day schools in the Baltimore-Washington corridor.

A year in Owings Mills

🌸 Spring Mar–May

62° / 42°

Jacket and layers

Dry

🎭 Purim🫓 Pesach🌾 Shavuos

☀️ Summer Jun–Aug

86° / 66°

Shorts and short sleeves

Humid

Sweat stays on you, so shade gives little relief.

🕯️ Tisha B'Av

🍂 Fall Sep–Nov

68° / 48°

Long sleeves or a light jacket

Comfortable

🍎 Rosh Hashanah🕊️ Yom Kippur🌿 Sukkos

❄️ Winter Dec–Feb

43° / 28°

Winter coat

Dry

🕎 Chanukah🌳 Tu BiShvat

Monthly averages for the middle of Owings Mills, 2019–2023 (NASA POWER). Holiday dates move about a month from year to year.

Cost of living and learning near Owings Mills

Housing in the community area

🏠 Asking price

$384,975

$202 per sq ft

🔑 Rent

$1,784 /mo

🧾 Property tax

$4,231 /yr

💵 Household income

$101,831

How we measured this

ZIP areas: 21117, 21153, 21208, covering the areas around the congregations and schools. Asking price is the median of current listings across those ZIP areas (Realtor.com research data, September 2026); by ZIP: 21117 $384,975 · 21208 $373,250 · 21153 $900,000. Owner-estimated median home value, which lags the market: $387,400. Rent, property tax and income are Census ACS 2020–2024 medians.

Tuition by grade

  • Preschool $8,150 · 1 school
  • Elementary $14,000 · 1 school

Published rates for 2025–26 and 2026–27 at the schools above, before aid. Bars run from $0 to $60,000. See what you would pay after aid →

Maryland: taxes and help with tuition

💸 Income tax

State taxes income

Maryland

🎓 State scholarship

Up to $4,750

Broadening Options and Opportunities for Students Today. Household income at or below 185% of the federal poverty level (the USDA Free and Reduced-Price Meals eligibility limit).

🏛️ Federal credit

Undecided

Has not decided whether to opt in to the federal credit.

Program details checked 2026-08-17.

Homeschooling in Maryland

  • Notice

    Home instruction is overseen by your local school system or by a registered nonpublic school or church-operated ministry that supervises it.

  • Testing or review

    With the school system, you keep a portfolio that is reviewed about once a semester, and a representative may observe instruction at an agreed time.

  • Locally

    Review calendars and forms are set by each local school system.

Checked 2026-10-27 against Maryland State Department of Education. Rules change and can differ by district; confirm with your district before you start.

Jewish communities near Owings Mills

Congregations in and around Owings Mills, nearest first, measured from the middle of Owings Mills. Missing yours, or something looks wrong? Tell us.

See all synagogues and the Jewish community in Owings Mills →

Other cities in Maryland with Jewish schools

Baltimore (23) · Silver Spring (8) · Rockville (7) · Pikesville (6) · Columbia (3) · Annapolis (2)

Common questions about Jewish day schools in Owings Mills, Maryland

What's the difference between a Jewish day school and a yeshiva?

Both teach a dual curriculum combining Judaic studies with general academic subjects, but "yeshiva" typically refers to schools in the yeshivish or Orthodox tradition with a heavier Torah-study focus. "Jewish day school" is the broader umbrella. See our guide to how Jewish schools differ.

Do we need to be religious to send our children?

No. Many Jewish day schools — particularly community and pluralistic schools, Conservative-movement schools, and Modern Orthodox schools that accept all affiliations — serve families across the full observance spectrum. Some schools require synagogue membership or minimum observance; most don't.

Is the posted tuition what we'll actually pay?

Usually not. Almost every Jewish day school has a financial aid program, and the "collected average" tuition across the cohort is typically 30–40% below the posted rate. Our tuition estimator shows what could apply to your family, and each school can tell you what it offers.

How do families afford Jewish day school tuition?

Public school is free; Jewish day schools copied its format and have to be paid for. Most schools set tuition family by family, through a committee that reviews tax returns and financial documents, so what a family pays depends on what the school judges it can afford. Schools generally do not publish how those amounts are calculated or what other families pay. Donations cover a large share of revenue, much of it from a small number of families, and working families in the middle tend to carry the most, since the cost multiplies with every child. Where staff children attend the school their parent works for, tuition is often part of the compensation package, and it is worth more with each child. Details vary by school. Our article How Yeshiva Day School Tuition Really Works shows the numbers.

How do we pick the right school for our family?

The practical fit factors are grade range, religious orientation (hashkafa), community character, distance from home, and what the tuition actually comes to after aid. Our matching quiz asks about each of these in about five minutes and produces a shortlist of schools that fit your family specifically.

Not sure which school fits?

Answer five questions about your child's grade, your location, and your community preferences — we'll show you the schools that match in Owings Mills, Maryland.

Start the matching quiz →

Data sourced from the federal NCES Private School Survey and IRS Form 990 filings where available. We do not publish street addresses, phone numbers, enrollment counts, or our internal classification data. Research methodology · Missing a school?