Skip to content

Directory listing โ€” not editorial research

Jewish Day Schools in Pikesville, Maryland

We confirm 6 Jewish day schools operating in Pikesville, Maryland as of our most recent data refresh. Grade ranges and community labels come from school websites and federal records where they're publicly available. Start our matching quiz to narrow the list.

Schools tagged with a distance are in nearby cities that families in Pikesville also consider. Distances are approximate, measured from the middle of Pikesville.

Nearby, nearest first: Beth Tfiloh Dahan Community School (1 mi) · Chizuk Amuno Early Childhood Education Center (1 mi) · Goldsmith Early Childhood Education Center (1 mi) · Krieger Schechter Day School (1 mi).

๐Ÿซ 6 in Pikesville · 4 nearby๐Ÿ• 8 congregations๐Ÿ  $373,250 asking๐ŸŒก๏ธ 40° Jan · 89° Jul๐Ÿ’ธ State income tax

1 early childhood · 5 elementary schools · 2 high schools · 2 combined k–12 schools

Schools in Pikesville, by level

Scroll to the level that matches your child’s age. Within each level, schools are grouped by whether they serve boys, girls, or co-ed classes.

Grades
Who
Where

Early Childhood (Preschool & Kindergarten) · 1 school

Programs serving preschool and kindergarten-age children, often as standalone early childhood centers or the youngest grades of a larger school.

Goldsmith Early Childhood Education Center

About 1 mi away · Baltimore

PK-K·Co-ed

NCES 2023-24

Elementary Schools (K–8) · 5 schools

Schools serving kindergarten through grade 8 — some K–5, some K–8, some starting at preschool and ending in 8th grade.

Co-ed

Jewels School

PK-7·Co-ed

NCES 2023-24 ยท IRS 990 FY2023

Krieger Schechter Day School

About 1 mi away · Baltimore

K-8·Co-ed

NCES 2023-24

Boys

High Schools (9–12) · 2 schools

Schools serving grades 9 through 12, including yeshivas, mesivtas, Bais Yaakov high schools, and Modern Orthodox and community high schools.

Boys

Mesivta Kesser Torah of Baltimore

9-12·Boys

NCES 2023-24 ยท IRS 990 FY2022

Gender mix not specified

Combined K–12 Schools · 2 schools

Schools that serve students from kindergarten (or preschool) all the way through grade 12 under one roof.

Co-ed

Beth Tfiloh Dahan Community School

About 1 mi away · Baltimore

PK-12·Co-ed

NCES 2023-24

Gender mix not specified

Chizuk Amuno Early Childhood Education Center

About 1 mi away · Baltimore

Grades: K - 12th

Public record

About Jewish education in Maryland

Maryland โ€” and Baltimore in particular โ€” supports one of the largest and oldest yeshivish communities in the country, anchored by Ner Israel-affiliated schools and a large Bais Yaakov network. Maryland also hosts significant Modern Orthodox and pluralistic day schools in the Baltimore-Washington corridor.

A year in Pikesville

๐ŸŒธ Spring Mar–May

62° / 42°

Jacket and layers

Dry

๐ŸŽญ Purim๐Ÿซ“ Pesach๐ŸŒพ Shavuos

โ˜€๏ธ Summer Jun–Aug

86° / 66°

Shorts and short sleeves

Humid

Sweat stays on you, so shade gives little relief.

๐Ÿ•ฏ๏ธ Tisha B'Av

๐Ÿ‚ Fall Sep–Nov

68° / 48°

Long sleeves or a light jacket

Comfortable

๐ŸŽ Rosh Hashanah๐Ÿ•Š๏ธ Yom Kippur๐ŸŒฟ Sukkos

โ„๏ธ Winter Dec–Feb

43° / 28°

Winter coat

Dry

๐Ÿ•Ž Chanukah๐ŸŒณ Tu BiShvat

Monthly averages for the middle of Pikesville, 2019–2023 (NASA POWER). Holiday dates move about a month from year to year.

Cost of living and learning near Pikesville

Housing in the community area

๐Ÿ  Asking price

$373,250

$190 per sq ft

๐Ÿ”‘ Rent

$1,720 /mo

๐Ÿงพ Property tax

$3,563 /yr

๐Ÿ’ต Household income

$90,131

How we measured this

ZIP areas: 21208, covering the areas around the congregations and schools. Asking price is the median of current listings across those ZIP areas (Realtor.com research data, September 2026); by ZIP: 21208 $373,250. Owner-estimated median home value, which lags the market: $337,900. Rent, property tax and income are Census ACS 2020–2024 medians.

Tuition by grade

  • Elementary $23,600 · 2 schools
  • Middle school $26,300 · 2 schools

Published rates for 2025–26 and 2026–27 at the schools above, before aid. Bars run from $0 to $60,000. See what you would pay after aid →

Maryland: taxes and help with tuition

๐Ÿ’ธ Income tax

State taxes income

Maryland

๐ŸŽ“ State scholarship

Up to $4,750

Broadening Options and Opportunities for Students Today. Household income at or below 185% of the federal poverty level (the USDA Free and Reduced-Price Meals eligibility limit).

๐Ÿ›๏ธ Federal credit

Undecided

Has not decided whether to opt in to the federal credit.

Program details checked 2026-08-17.

Homeschooling in Maryland

  • Notice

    Home instruction is overseen by your local school system or by a registered nonpublic school or church-operated ministry that supervises it.

  • Testing or review

    With the school system, you keep a portfolio that is reviewed about once a semester, and a representative may observe instruction at an agreed time.

  • Locally

    Review calendars and forms are set by each local school system.

Checked 2026-10-27 against Maryland State Department of Education. Rules change and can differ by district; confirm with your district before you start.

Jewish communities near Pikesville

Congregations in and around Pikesville, nearest first, measured from the middle of Pikesville. Missing yours, or something looks wrong? Tell us.

See all synagogues and the Jewish community in Pikesville →

Other cities in Maryland with Jewish schools

Baltimore (23) · Owings Mills (9) · Silver Spring (8) · Rockville (7) · Columbia (3) · Annapolis (2)

Common questions about Jewish day schools in Pikesville, Maryland

What's the difference between a Jewish day school and a yeshiva?

Both teach a dual curriculum combining Judaic studies with general academic subjects, but "yeshiva" typically refers to schools in the yeshivish or Orthodox tradition with a heavier Torah-study focus. "Jewish day school" is the broader umbrella. See our guide to how Jewish schools differ.

Do we need to be religious to send our children?

No. Many Jewish day schools โ€” particularly community and pluralistic schools, Conservative-movement schools, and Modern Orthodox schools that accept all affiliations โ€” serve families across the full observance spectrum. Some schools require synagogue membership or minimum observance; most don't.

Is the posted tuition what we'll actually pay?

Usually not. Almost every Jewish day school has a financial aid program, and the "collected average" tuition across the cohort is typically 30โ€“40% below the posted rate. Our tuition estimator shows what could apply to your family, and each school can tell you what it offers.

How do families afford Jewish day school tuition?

Public school is free; Jewish day schools copied its format and have to be paid for. Most schools set tuition family by family, through a committee that reviews tax returns and financial documents, so what a family pays depends on what the school judges it can afford. Schools generally do not publish how those amounts are calculated or what other families pay. Donations cover a large share of revenue, much of it from a small number of families, and working families in the middle tend to carry the most, since the cost multiplies with every child. Where staff children attend the school their parent works for, tuition is often part of the compensation package, and it is worth more with each child. Details vary by school. Our article How Yeshiva Day School Tuition Really Works shows the numbers.

How do we pick the right school for our family?

The practical fit factors are grade range, religious orientation (hashkafa), community character, distance from home, and what the tuition actually comes to after aid. Our matching quiz asks about each of these in about five minutes and produces a shortlist of schools that fit your family specifically.

Not sure which school fits?

Answer five questions about your child's grade, your location, and your community preferences โ€” we'll show you the schools that match in Pikesville, Maryland.

Start the matching quiz โ†’

Data sourced from the federal NCES Private School Survey and IRS Form 990 filings where available. We do not publish street addresses, phone numbers, enrollment counts, or our internal classification data. Research methodology ยท Missing a school?